Law Enforcement & Impounds

Grayling Police Impound

IMPOUND LOT

AuSable Towing & Recovery Inc.

4365 M-72 W

Grayling, MI 49738


Phone: (989) 344-8698

    Fax:  (989) 344-1377



Vehicle Impound Requirements:


To be driven out the owner must provide:

  • A valid registration (must match current and valid license plates on the vehicle)
  • Valid & Verifiable Insurance
  • Valid Driver’s License
  • All Tow / Impound fees must be paid in full
  • No Investigative Holds

To be towed out the owner must provide:

  • Valid Registration
  • Valid Identification
  • Michigan Licensed & Insured Wrecker
  • No Investigative Holds

The owner may choose to designate an authorized agent to retrieve the property. Owner’s agent/designee must present ownership paperwork:

  • Power of attorney or Notarized statement giving permission to remove the vehicle
  • Vehicles titled in a business name can be released with documentation that authorizes the individual claiming the vehicle

Michigan State Police

103 James St. Grayling, MI 49738

Phone: (989) 348-5549

Crawford County Sheriff's Department

200 Michigan Ave, Grayling, MI 49738

Phone: (989) 348-6341

Grayling Police & Public Safety

1020 City Boulevard Grayling, MI 49738  

Phone: (989) 348-4601


Michigan Laws Pertaining To Impounds & Abandoned Vehicles


YOUR VEHICLE TOWING & IMPOUND FEES MUST BE PAID FOR


YOU CANNOT LEAVE YOUR VEHICLE IN LIEU OF PAYMENT


SEVERE CRIMINAL & MONETARY PENALTIES WILL BE ASSESSED AS FOLLOWS


 A person who abandons a motor vehicle or vessel may also be found responsible for littering under the Natural Resources and Environmental Protection Act [MCL 324.8905a(4)]. This is a state civil infraction subject to a civil fine from $500 to $2,500 plus costs, state assessments, and other statutory penalties. The penalty for abandoning a second vehicle or vessel is a civil fine from $1,000 to $5,000 plus costs, state assessments, and other statutory penalties. This includes abandonment of a vehicle at a tow facility.


 

Michigan law (MCL 257.252d and 80130h, 81151, and 82161 2014 PA 549) outlines circumstances when a police agency may authorize immediate removal of a vehicle or vessel from private or public property to a place of safekeeping at the owner's expense. The conditions for immediate removal include when the vehicle or vessel is: 

  • Parked or idling on the highway so that it creates an immediate public hazard or an obstruction of traffic.
  • Parked in a posted tow-away zone.
  • A threat to public safety because its presence impedes rescue efforts during fire, flood, storm, snow, natural or man-made disaster or other emergency.
  • Hampering the use of private property by the owner or person in charge of that property or is parked in a manner which impedes the movement of another vehicle or vessel.
  • Illegally stopped, idling or parked in a designated disability parking space.
  • Located in a clearly identified access aisle or access lane immediately adjacent to a disability parking space.
  • Interfering with the use of a ramp or a curb-cut by people with disabilities.
  • Believed to be stolen.
  • Seized to preserve evidence of a crime.
  • Involved in a crash.
  • If the vessel is submerged in, partially submerged in, or floating unanchored or untethered upon a public waterway


 

Abandoned vehicle or vessel has a slightly different meaning than what is generally understood. According to state statute, abandoned vehicle or vessel applies not only to the "junkers" that are dumped on the roadside, but vehicles or vessels on private or public property that have been removed either by request of the property owner or because the vehicle or vessel was parked or left in violation of a law. 


A vehicle or vessel may be considered abandoned when it is:

  • A vehicle or vessel on private property without the consent of the owner.
  • A vehicle or vessel that has remained on public property for not less than 48 hours.
  • A vehicle that has remained on a state trunk line for not less than 18 hours if a valid registration  plate is affixed to the vehicle
  • A vehicle that has remained on a state trunk line if a valid registration plate is not affixed to the vehicle.
  • A vessel that has remained on a state trunk line and is not on a motor vehicle or trailer and is not under the immediate custody of the owner
  • A vessel on a motor vehicle or trailer if the motor vehicle or trailer displays a valid registration plate and has been on a state trunk line for no less than 18 hours and is not under the immediate custody of the owner.

Also, a vehicle or vessel removed under the following conditions is considered abandoned if not redeemed by the owner within seven days:

  • If the vehicle of vessel is in such a condition that the operation of it will constitute an immediate hazard to the public.
  • If the vehicle of vessel is parked or idling on the highway so that it creates an immediate public hazard or an obstruction of traffic.
  • If the vehicle or vessel is parked in a posted tow-away zone.
  • Removal of a vehicle or vessel is necessary if it is a threat to public safety because its presence impedes rescue efforts during fire, flood, storm, snow, natural or man-made disaster, or other emergency.
  • If the vehicle or vessel is hampering the use of private property by the owner or person in charge of that property or is parked in a manner that impedes the movement of another vehicle or vessel.
  • If the vehicle or vessel is Illegally stopped, idling, or parked in a designated disability parking space.
  • If the vehicle of vessel is located in a clearly identified access aisle or access lane immediately adjacent to a disability parking space.
  • If the vehicle or vessel is Interfering with the use of a ramp or a curb-cut by people with disabilities.
  • If the vessel is submerged in, partially submerged in, or floating unanchored or untethered upon a public waterway.

A vehicle removed under the following conditions is considered abandoned if not redeemed by the owner within 20 days from the date of release by the law enforcement agency:

  • If the vehicle or vessel is believed to be stolen.
  • If the vehicle or vessel is seized to preserve evidence of a crime.
  • If the vehicle or vessel is involved in a crash.